Exbury 10k – 18 March 2012

10k map

10km route and speed/elevation chart

It was one of my New Year’s resolutions, and today I ticked it off the list – run, and finish, a 10k race.

In hindsight, picking a race that was consistently uphill for the second half was a terribly bright choice, but I can hold my head up high with some personal stats:

  • completion in 59’53” – not bad for a hilly course
  • first three miles in 27″15 – well, it was downhill
  • race position #260 out of 363 finishers (and approximately 450 registered starters – so 87 no-shows or gave up)
  • the last race I did was in 1995 – 10k in 57″30′ and that was totally flat – so I’m not too concerned about being two minutes slower

I’ve also learned a few things which I’ll put into play next time (yes, I think there will be a next time!):

  • I would have been better off with a protein bar ahead of the race than a protein shake – six miles of sloshing around wasn’t the best
  • I really must try to go at a consistent speed – the first half of the run was too fast and hampered me on the way back
  • I should carry something to drink – I’m pretty sure I needed a slurp around the 7km mark and had to wait until I’d finished

But, all things considered, I had a good run and I clocked a time I’m happy with – and one I can improve.

Any suggestions, running hints, or race tactics always welcome.

